Lovely irises & more

It is bloom time here, like I knew it would be. After a week of rain and cold it has been sunny and hot. Mimi has been playing in her kiddie pool and the flowers have been blooming like mad.

007

Here is a fancy iris…

005

And here is another…

006

And another

009

And another

003

And yet another. There are two more of the Schreiner’s bearded irises that have yet to bloom–and they’ll do it in the next day or two. I can’t wait until all of these become big clumps, filling in the flower garden and sending up a couple dozen blooms apiece.

002

I have two Siberian irises and they are starting to bloom too. Unfortunately they don’t seem to like my garden very well, so they only have one or two buds apiece (and didn’t bloom at all last summer). Ah well.

001

Here is a nice picture with a bearded iris, a Siberian iris, and some Dutch iris all together. How nice.

012

The foxglove has begun to bloom out back, too. This is the foxglove I bought and planted the very first summer in the Little Gray House Of Mine. The variety is Digitalis mertonensis, strawberry shades. It is a truly perennial variety and blooms in shades of pink and white. I transplanted all of the white ones to the front beds last summer, where I also planted Camelot lavender and Pam’s Choice foxglove. It is shadier there so those plants are behind these. Ah, I adore mertonensis. It deals very well with dividing, too. In 2007 I bought three plants and they have become about a dozen now, with several that need dividing this year. They’re worth it!

53 thoughts on “Lovely irises & more

  1. Irises have so much personality! I love these photos…may have to venure down to the store today to grab myself some.

    They always remind me of springtime…and of the singing flowers in the Tiki Tiki Tiki Tiki Tiki Room at Disneyland!

    🙂

  2. These photos are gorgeous. I tried last year to plant foxglove (Digitalis purpurea), but from some reason I couldn’t. I think it was a problem with the seeds.

  3. Gorgeous. I really enjoyed your post of beautiful Iris. My grandmother always had Iris in her yard – often dark purple (my favorite). Your first picture was an especially fabulous one. Here in Chicago the city has a sizable flower budget, but I’ve not yet noticed Iris in any public flower beds. Congrats on being FP!

  4. Those are gorgeous irises. I have native Irish foxgloves about to blossom and it’s so exciting. Congrats on being freshly pressed, nice blog.

  5. It’s funny that so many people ask what camera I use–it’s just a Canon PowerShot Digital Elph. Then I edit the levels in the pictures, and treat them with Pioneer Woman’s Photoshop Actions “Boost” (for everything) and “Lovely & Ethereal” (for garden shots).

  6. I have never had foxglove grow from seed, either. All that I have were bought as plants.

  7. Gorgeous

    I love the blue ones. The irises are soo wonderfull

    I wish I can plant some of those in my garden,I will try to find some.

  8. Stunning! I truly need to plant some of these beauties. Thanks for inspiring me. Congratulations on being “Freshly Pressed.”

  9. Stunning! I truly need to plant some of these beauties in my garden. Thank you for inspiring me. Congratulations on “Freshly Pressed,” and I do hope you can visit my garden blog site. Cheers!

  10. Pingback: The Riskiest Profession on earth…and Irises | Joy in the Moments

  11. Purple, how I do love you (perhaps because you are rumored to be the color of royalty, and, therefore, dear to the Mad Queen’s heart). Have you seen Home Depot’s commercial with the men painted purple? The starring actress epitomizes my love of purple. Your photos are outstanding. Enjoy life, and being Fresh Pressed.

  12. Pingback: Blackberry Lilies, aka Belamcanda Chinensis aka Iris Domestica | small house/BIG GARDEN

  13. Pingback: Aureolaria pediculariaFind Me A Cure | Find Me A Cure

  14. Pingback: Íris Florescendo… | Notícias do Governo-BR

Leave a comment