Lavender sugar scrub

Winter is long gone, but my winter knees and elbows just won’t quit. So yesterday I made myself some sugar scrub (all from stuff I already had! Hooray!)

001

The recipe here is

1/2 c coconut oil, melted
1 c white sugar
Few drops lavender oil
T dried lavender

All day yesterday it was so warm in the house that the coconut oil stayed liquid. Overnight it got cool enough that it solidified. It’s a little too hard to use this way, but I’m sure that three minutes in the shower will melt it out.

Some recipes call for sea salt, which is “harsher”. I didn’t have any in the house or I probably would have used it. Brown sugar is supposed to make a gentler scrub.

If I make another batch in colder weather I will probably use light olive oil, so it stays liquid all the time. Not EVOO–that has a strong peppery fragrance that I dislike.

Real lavender is one of the best smells in the world. Fake lavender is one of the worst.

005

A lot of lavender rose to the top. It is just there to look pretty, anyway.

This has reminded me of how much I love fancy bath stuff. Salts and oils and big, triple-milled soaps. Back before Chambers became a part of Williams-Sonoma, they sold a sampler of a dozen “spicy” soaps in four scents. It was something like orange, cinnamon, vanilla, and nutmeg. Yesterday I watched some YouTube videos about making cold process soap, and I am tempted to try. I’d pour them in nice big molds, and after they were done curing I’d wrap them in fancy paper and put them in nice boxes. Mmmmmrrrrrr I want to purr just thinking about it.

This is also making me think about “pretty” things–about lace and embroidery and matelasse, and sachets and toilet water and dainty floral calicos. In Death On The Nile when the inspector examines a certain lady passenger’s cabin, it is immaculately neat and smells faintly of lavender. The inspector says, “nice woman.” Could I ever be immaculately neat and smell faintly of lavender?

3 thoughts on “Lavender sugar scrub

  1. This looks delicious (I know that’s the wrong word for something non-edible… but it does!) I love the idea of adding lavender to a body scrub

  2. Lavender is my all-time favorite. i will definitely be making this as I have some culinary lavender which has been sitting in my cupboard for too long! (plus you don’t need too much lavender in cooking…kind of tastes like… soap if you aren’t judicious! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

