Pioneer food

This winter, after a lapse of several years, I rejoined with my habit of re-reading the Little House books once a year. It is so interesting how my perception of them has changed over time. When I first read them in 1988, they were the first long chapter books that I puzzled my way through, and that got me really comfortable with reading. In the 90s they taught me how to do all kinds of interesting things, at least in theory. In the early 00s, I heard that some scenes were censored in new editions (though I haven’t checked to be sure–anyone with a new copy of Little House on the Prairie, is there still an incident in which Indians wearing fresh skunk skins come into the house and steal all the cornmeal and tobacco?). The last time I read them, I began to understand, especially in the light of The First Four Years, that the books were a highly sanitized and idealized telling of Laura’s life, and that she in fact felt poor, trapped, and repressed much of the time.

This reading was completely different. This time around, the books horrified me. I understood, for the first time, that these people were stuck on the prairie with no reading material, no friends, and nothing but corn meal and salt pork to eat. For months at a time. The misery of their everyday experience is bad enough–The Long Winter is almost unimaginable. No wonder Laura emphasizes, in that book, that she passed most of it in a sleepy stupor. There would simply have been no way for an awake brain to deal with what was happening.

I particularly noticed the mentions of what food they were eating, this time around, and I got inspired to try some of the recipes myself. Here is what I found out about them.

Experiment #1: fried salt pork and cornmeal cakes
IMG_5627

Salt pork is another name for salted pork belly. I was able to buy a slab of it at my local supermarket. It is like bacon, but nearly entirely fat. I cut slices off of it and fried them up. They gave off copious amounts of grease. The little bit of each slice that was real meat was tasty to nibble, but the rest was just crispy fat.

The cornmeal cakes were made, as the book says, with just cornmeal and water. This mixture does not hold together on its own; rather, you have to throw handfuls of it —splat— into the skillet of pork drippings, and as they cook, they cohere. I covered them with sorghum molasses, which seemed like a historically reasonable thing to do. They were much as you’d expect–dry cornbread, fried in pork fat, with syrup on top. Sort of tasty, but not something I would ever want to make again.

A note: I am aware that, when one reads “cornmeal and water”, one starts to think about the concoction variously known as hasty pudding, cornmeal mush, and polenta. I made the cornmeal cakes the way I did here because the book makes no mention of them having a kettle in which to boil water for polenta, only a spider skillet to fry things in.

Experiment #2: vinegar pie
042

Vinegar pie seems to be an evolution of chess pie, but instead of using lemon juice as the souring agent, the lemon-less pioneers substituted vinegar. There are many recipes for this, all of them somewhat different, but all boiling down to a base of eggs, sugar, and vinegar. I tried a recipe that included raisins, spices, and brown sugar (that is, sugar with molasses content. Watch the molasses theme in these experiments). The taste was strong, both sweet and sour, redolent of the spices and, yes, the vinegar. I didn’t find the pie disagreeable, but it isn’t something I would take a second piece of. Sparks ate one piece and couldn’t stomach another.

Experiment #3: baked beans and rye ‘n injun bread
041

Both of these recipes are mentioned often in both Laura’s stories and in Farmer Boy. This is a classic New England Sunday supper. At the time the books took place, work on Sunday was still verboten. These dishes were mixed up and put into the oven on Saturday evening, so there would be a hearty dinner on Sunday. They also both center around molasses as a flavoring, as it was cheap and abundant everywhere at the time.

The baked beans are flavored with onion, mustard powder, molasses, and salt pork (I got good use out of that chunk of pork belly). They are baked to within an inch of their lives–though you can see a few bean shapes in the picture, in the eating they disintegrated into mush. The rye ‘n injun bread, so named because it is made with both rye flour and cornmeal (Indian meal), is more commonly known nowadays as Boston brown bread. It is flavored with molasses and raisins, and tastes substantially similar to the vinegar pie. It has a coarse texture. Both dishes are sweet, bland, and sit in your stomach like bricks. Sparks and I couldn’t finish them.

My conclusions from this experiment are pretty much what I had guessed from the books–I am profoundly grateful that I live in the age of supermarkets and hot spices, rather than the age of molasses and stodge. With little else to eat for months on end, I can’t decide if these recipes began to taste better or worse. I come away from this with, as I said, an enormous awe, respect, and–yes–horror of Laura Ingalls Wilder’s life. The past is interesting but oh, I’m so glad I don’t have to live there.

25 thoughts on “Pioneer food

  1. LOL. You were brave for trying these. I would guess they would be heartily eaten back then since so much more work was physical labor and I’m sure they would have worked up appetites sufficient to eat that stuff. I doubt today’s office cube-prairie-dogs could push keyboards or pencils hard enough to muster up the appetite for all that molasses and meal. Blech!

  2. Funny enough, last night, I just caught an episode of Good Eats: Molasses where Alton cooks Boston brown bread. I’ve had a few times around here and they are wickedly varied. I’m pretty sure they contain wheat flour as well.

  3. A few years ago we visited the places the Wilders lived. I was horrified at the conditions under which they survived. And like you am glad I live in the here and now.

  4. Someone else was mentioning that–serendipity, I guess, though why the universe is favoring brown bread is beyond me.

  5. Yep. It must have taken some serious fortitude to agree to all the moves Pa wanted to make, when she was a city girl.

  6. I loved the Laura Ingalls Wilder books as a child and haven’t read them for quite some time, though I must have reread my favorites about a dozen times (The First Four Years was my least favorite, Famer Boy & Little Town on the Prairie were the best). Wilder inspired my love of history.

    I wanted to tell you, though, that there is a cookbook called “The Little House Cookbook: Frontier Foods from Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Classic Stories” by Barbara M. Walker. I’ve never tried any of the recipes, but the books is a great read as it takes excerpts from the books that mention food, explains them, and then includes a recipe for the foods mentioned. It spans all of Ingalls’ books.

    Yeah, the food back then was not stellar, but beans & cornbread & salt pork were the foods of the very poor. This is why pioneers always had kitchen gardens! Kudos to you for being game enough to try and replicate the recipes and even braver to eat them!

  7. Katrina,

    My name is Bianca and I am in Grade 3. I am doing a school project on Pioneer Cooking. I saw the pictures of the food you made on your website and would like permission to use them in my project.

    Thank you!
    Bianca

  8. The Long Winter story was even worse than what Laura published. Get one of the better Laura Ingalls Wilder biographies that tells the real story.

    I believe the chronic malnutrition the girls suffered much of their early lives was why Laura was so short.

    …..Alan.

  9. hello my name is samantha I am in 4th grade and I need a pioneer recipe to make my hole class and your web site really helped me alot I hope I get a good grade.

    From, Samantha

  10. Pingback: guru ji » Food in the Little House

  11. Pingback: Food in the Little House | gurusir.com

  12. Hi Snapdragons

    I am staying the winter in North Dakota and am finishing the last book in the Wilder series now. I am a foodie and have found the food descriptions fascinating Now my husband is reading Farmer Boy (which is very food-centric).
    He asked about Rye ‘n’ Injun bread and that’s how I found you! I have a blog called northdakotacamperwife.blogspot.com. After I make the recipe, would you mind if I post it on my blog?

    Thanks, Elaine

  13. Certainly be my guest, Elaine! The post about “Pioneer food” is the most viewed I’ve ever written… the internet needs more such blog posts, obviously!

  14. Pingback: {edible gift} Cornmeal Rye Pancake Mix in a Jar | FROM SCRATCH CLUB

  15. I made rye’n’injun bread today. It might have turned out better if I had had a finer grind of cornmeal (mine is medium grind), but I liked it. My daughter loved it–devoured a fifth of the batch! As vegetarians, we wouldn’t be trying anything with pork in it, but it was interesting to try. I think I should make it again; it would be helpful for when she doesn’t like whatever I fixed. Too bad rye has gluten. My boys can’t have gluten, and one can’t have corn either.

  16. Re: your question about whether the Little House books were censored: I bought a hardback omnibus of the first five books of the Laura series. The episode about the Indians with skunk skins was left intact in “Little House on the Prairie.” I’m very familiar with the books, having read all 8 throughout my childhood. In the five books printed in my 2013 set, not one word has been changed that I notice. Kaye

  17. Thank you for letting me know, Kaye. I still re-read my own thirty-year-old editions, so I’ve always wondered if these rumors were really true.

  18. Rereading all the books as an adult I’ve had so many thoughts: Pa was very selfish and basically put his family in harm’s way so he could chase open air and land, poor Mary was blind and being moved around constantly, I understand why the lady of the home where Laura stayed while teaching was depressed and arguing with her husband, and Laura never was able to choose her own life. She was forced to teach to help the family, forced to continue farming because Almanzo wished to do so, and forced to accept her father’s word as law. I love the books as they give us insight into pioneering history but I couldn’t imagine living said life.

Leave a comment