About those unkins…

Sometime in June Mimi and I discovered a forgotten pumpkin in our pantry. It had sat there all winter, quietly not rotting, for which I thanked it, but I didn’t much want to eat it. So Mimi and I cracked it open and planted some of the seeds.

snapIMG_2982

You’re supposed to start pumpkins and squash here on April 1 (!!!), so we were late, and the location wasn’t prime, and the summer was dry and in short I wasn’t expecting anything at all to happen, so you can imagine my surprise when something did. We have pumpkins!

snapIMG_2981

Admittedly there were only five, three of them about the size of baseballs, and one of the big ones was apparently cross-pollinated with a zucchini because it’s green, but it was a lot of fun.

snapIMG_2980

And now I want a REAL pumpkin patch next year. With lots of varieties. Orange, red, pink, white, gray, green, warty, striped. I want ’em all!

snapIMG_2984

Goooood pumpkins. Niiiiiiice pumpkins. Ya done good.

Leave a Reply

