Soup beans

You’ll have to forgive the photographs with this post, because beans do not make for pretty food photography. They’re an autumn staple in our house, though, so I’m going to tell you about them anyway.

Beans. Cooked from dry. Seasoned. In a lot of broth. Tasty, cheap, good for you, and versatile. We usually eat them with cornbread, or with Tex Mex-type stuff, on the first night. After that I eat them for breakfast with mashed squash, a fried egg, and lots of hot sauce, while Sparks adds scoops to his morning ramen soup.

I always use either black beans or pinto beans, though I’m sure navy beans, cranberry beans, etc. would be great, too. I do a pound at a time, and put them to soak in a big bowl of cold water while I’m cleaning up the kitchen after dinner.

The next morning, mid-morning-ish, I drain them.

snap001

There they are, soaked and ready to cook.

snap002

I throw them in my crock pot with one large diced onion, five or six strips of bacon snipped into bits, a tablespoon of cumin, a tablespoon of ancho chili powder, and a tablespoon of garlic powder. No salt yet: there are old wives’ tales about salt preventing beans from cooking, and I think several modern TV chefs have disproved it, but I stick by it anyway.

snap004

Add water to cover–six cups is usually plenty–and turn the crock pot on high.

Late-afternoonish, or dinner-timish if I’m busy, I stir in a heaping tablespoon of Knorr’s chicken powder (which is powdered chicken bouillon), taste, and salt to preference. That’s it. Beans are ready.

snap004

As I said, first night is usually with cornbread, or with rice and toppings.

snap009

The next morning, though … yeah. Uh huh. Soup beans. Roasted squash mashed with plenty of butter and salt (which is another autumn staple here). An egg flash-fried in plenty of oil, so its edges are crispy but its yolk is still runny. And hot sauce. This is Sriracha, but I usually use Cholula. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm mm. Good stuff.

One thought on “Soup beans

  1. Just to say that I am really enjoying your posts! I make home made beans too- in bulk and freeze them rather than bottle- works fine.
    Anne

Leave a Reply

