Historical museum

I find the native art of the Pacific Northwest to be compelling. Seriously compelling. When I was first setting up our library and found that there would be an unfilled gap in our wall of bookshelves, I thought it would be a perfect spot for a totem pole. Sparks worried that would be disrespectful–do totem poles have religious significance?

Turns out they don’t. They’re just darned expensive. So my spot on the library wall is unfilled, and I snap pictures of indigenous carving whenever I see it. These superb specimens were at the Port Townsend historical museum. It houses the historic jail and firehouse, too, and interesting collections related to the town’s seafaring history. I recommend it–and Port Townsend in general.

snap042

snap043

snap044

snap045

And here is the take-home from the trip: three notecards by Allie High for Taku Graphics (there is another of a hibernating bear dreaming of fish–WOW I want that one!) and five colors of Elemental Affects’ Shetland wool, which is grown in the U.S. They make seven natural shades, apparently, of which I have three here: muskit, mogit, and fawn. The skeins are only one ounce apiece. I can probably make a nice hat out of them.

snap081

2 thoughts on “Historical museum

  1. Love the last photo – looks like a drop spindle, only bigger – for spinning heavier yarn, perhaps for those wonderful sweaters that come from that area.

  2. The blankets are woven out of heavy yarn–if I saw it in a store I’d call it “chunky.” So big spindles make sense. I wonder if decorative spindles haven’t become an art form too, though.

Leave a Reply

