Birthday

I had a birthday. My second in Washington state.

snap003

On my first here, I got rear-ended on the first time I tried to drive into town. Ick. This birthday I celebrated with langostine scampi and heirloom tomato salad, which was much nicer.

My birthday treat to myself–decided at a subconscious level, and on the spur of the moment–was to spend the morning doing a lot of neglected chores that had been bugging me. It was clothes-washing day and I always get that done, but I picked up all the I-could-wear-it-again items strewn on the floor and took care of them. With the bedroom floors clear, I vacuumed the upstairs. I got a bucket of sudsy water (the green Dawn that smells like apples) and wet-dusted all the bedroom furniture, including my writing room. I even moved my little forest animals to get everything clean. I straightened up my desktop. I washed the sheets. Then I took a first lick at our TV room, which is badly in need of attention.

After all that, I stuffed eighteen resistors onto each of twenty-five circuit boards, and spent some time looking at my birthday-present books, pictured above. I took three double turns around our back pasture, to get my steps in for the day. I knitted for about three minutes. I took a nap. I cooked dinner.

It was a pretty good birthday. I’m glad I got that housework done. There are a lot more resistors to stuff today … and I need to thread a warp for weaving class. The teacher, Marcia, is relentless with the warp threading. She’s good that way.

2 thoughts on “Birthday

  1. What a wonderful birthday present to yourself. Laundry is the bane of my existence. I couldn’t possibly catch up with it all in one day, but I may make it a goal to be caught up with it for my birthday. What a treat an empty (or nearly empty — let’s face it, my family is constantly churning out laundry) laundry bin would be!

Leave a Reply

