The hubris socks

I finished a pair of socks yesterday. They were a lot of fun to knit.

snap004

This was my second pair knit of Scheepjes Invicta Extra. I still love this yarn. I want to buy more … but I have so much yarn waiting, I really can’t. Anyway: it holds the stitch pattern beautifully and was a joy to work with. It’s cheap, too. I can’t recommend it highly enough.

snap001

Here is the chart for the pattern. I worked it over 32 stitches (five panels and four cables) on the insteps, for five and a half total pattern repeats. During the last half repeat, I increased the sole stitches from 28 to 31, and worked a short-row heel over 31. Then I finished the pattern repeat, still working it only on the front needle. After that, I worked five pattern repeats with the pattern all the way around (five panels and four cables on the front still, and five cables and four panels on the back). Then ribbing and Bob’s your uncle.

snap002

I’ve been knitting my socks over fewer stitches, recently. 64 was my standard number for years, but I’m finding that 60 or even 56 works better for me. Socks keep their shape throughout the day, and fit into my shoes. Silly me. I have also been putting my socks straight through the washer and dryer like everything else, which is one reason I’m wearing them so much more. After years of hand-washing, I feel liberated.

snap005

Why are these the hubris socks? Because they inspired me to knit a traditional fisherman’s gansey for Sparks. Out of Frangipani 5-ply Guernsey wool. Knit at 8sts/in. He has a 44″ chest so with 2″ of ease, that makes for 368 stitches around. Gak. Gaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaak.

snap024

I’m going to re-measure his chest today, but otherwise, as soon as my long-cord 2.25mm circular needle shows up, I’m off to the races.

2 thoughts on “The hubris socks

  1. A Gansey – how wonderful – there is a blog by a guy who lives in northern Scotland,called “Gansey Nation” – he knits nothing but gansey’s. It was your mother who told me about it, so you probably already know it. But if you google Gansey Nation there is a wealth of information. I started one for Peter though, but he put on a lot of weight before it was even half-way done, so I never finished it. Beware weight gain when the sweater is knit in the round!!!

  2. I’m telling myself “I have to finish this within a year” to (I hope) forestall that issue. Fingers crossed …

Leave a Reply

