Happy Thanksgiving

… a day early. The day itself will be too hectic for blogging, so I am saying it now. I hope your holiday is full of food, fun, family, and friends. Mine will be…

003

This year the big family Thanksgiving has contracted to only 15 people, so everyone is responsible for more dishes than usual. I have been charged with the relish tray, cranberry sauce, my famous mac ‘n cheese (which is actually Martha Stewart’s mac ‘n cheese), and I think I will bake at least one pie, too. Mimi is at school this morning (blessed peace…). She will help me with the cooking when she gets home. She is so excited. She has colored on a lot of scraps of construction paper, and those are our “recipies”.

004

With the Thanksgiving holiday commencing, the Big Holiday is right around the corner. I find it hard to believe that in a week, the Christmas tree will be up and all of that mad dash will be on. I do have the Christmas cards nearly finished, and a lot of the shopping, which is a gain. There is also decorating and gift-wrapping to do, the more difficult gift procurement to go through with, the visit to family and the visiting family, and a few obligatory batches of cookies. In addition to those basics I would love to try a big gingerbread house this year. With melted sugar windows, and lights inside. I think that gluing the walls to a cardboard box, for structural support, is the answer.

007

Cookie-wise… I think I will do only two of my family’s traditional varieties. I will also do decorated gingerbread cookies with Mimi; gingerbread men, and the IKEA forest animal shapes, and snowflakes and trees. With white icing. And I’ll let her stick some candies on a few of them.

And Christmas dinner…? No. It’s too early to think about that. One thing at a time.

3 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving

  1. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family! Yes, it’s hard to believe Christmas is just right around the corner. Where did October and November go? My daughter is asking to make gingerbread cookies this year. What recipe do you use?

  2. The one from Martha Stewart’s Christmas issue two years ago… unfortunately I can’t find it online. Whatever dough you use, the trick is to roll the dough between sheets of parchment paper, then chill it in the fridge for half an hour before you cut out and move to the sheet pan right away.

Leave a Reply

