And general updates

002

Hello all. Long time no see. I think I have the big stuff all nicely encapsulated in previous blog posts, so here’s the omnibus update on family life.

Mimi is three, and she is a ton of fun right now. Some breakdowns and frustrations of course, but all in all, she’s a scream. She has a sense of humor and makes us laugh out loud every day. She loves “flamingo” music. She loves frogs. She thinks that the gas that goes in cars is the same gas that… well. Let’s say that her best friend at school is a boy, and he brings the potty humor likewhoa. Also, yes, Mimi’s nose is yellow in the picture. It’s flower pollen.

Sparks grew a beard. He also just got front-page billing on a major audio magazine in their July issue. I’m super chuffed for him; he built his first tube amp over a decade ago and has slowly grown his hobby into a business that now supports our family and gets him worldwide recognition. He’s a rare one, and a special guy, and I feel lucky to know him every single day.

And me. I am still writing. Every day. It’s the first thing I think about in the morning and the last thing I think about at night. I’ve written a prequel novella to my first book, and am halfway through a sequel. I have also done a couple of major rewrites of the first one. I think I’ve said so before, here on this blog–but oh my, those rewrites weren’t as major as the ones that have happened since. If you already had the book, unfortunately you won’t get the updated version. If you buy it now, you will.

Learning to write novels is really a learned thing. I guess you can take creative writing courses, and they might teach you important things about the writing process, and they would definitely give you the benefit of feedback–of which I have gotten precious little (probably because early versions of my novel stank, especially the beginning! If you bought it, HOLD ON FOR 30%. Or just skip to 30%. It gets way more interesting after that.) Still, it’s something you just have to do. A first novel is a first novel, and it’s a love-hate relationship FOR SURE.

As I learn more about my characters and become more confident and capable, though, I enjoy it more and more. I’m not stonking out two thousand words every single day, the way I did at first, but I am certainly doing a lot more rewriting and fine-tuning, and that’s where the magic happens. The fact that I want to die of embarrassment because I released early versions on Amazon, well, that’s life. If you don’t put yourself out there, you’ll never… well… be out there, right?

One thought on “And general updates

  1. Oh yay! Great to see an update from you! It looks like you are having a wonderful summer. And Mimi is a doll. This is such a great age, and it just gets better and better!

Leave a Reply

