Fall slides on by

018

Bread pudding. Zucchini and green onion quiche. Baked ham with green beans and macaroni & cheese. Potstickers. Spinach and artichoke casserole. Braised pork shoulder with potatoes and German red cabbage.

The furnace runs and smells like burning dust. Mimi wears footie pajamas to bed. I fiddle with Christmas crafts in my sewing room. I edit and re-edit and re-re-edit an article Sparks is writing. I buy pumpkins for the front porch. It is dark at dinnertime, and we light candles. I wear flannel shirts over t-shirts. Mimi wears tiny white undershirts under her orange Jack-o-Lantern shirt. The cat persistently wants cuddles. We watch The Little Mermaid every day. I act as a reference for a friend who wants a new job. Another friend turns 50. Sparks has back-to-back colds.

And I had another short pregnancy. My third longest out of six. We are going to take a break for a few months now. We need it. At this point we may as well wait a while; the older Mimi is, the easier it will be. And life, it goes on, and the seasons slide by.

4 thoughts on “Fall slides on by

  1. Thanks Julia. We are “used” to the disappointment. Right now I just want to be free to take Advil whenever I want it for a while…

Leave a Reply

