Prairie summer

On Wednesday Mimi and I returned to the prairie walk. I almost never take this walk after the Fourth of July, so I was curious about what we would find. Oh my, there was plenty to make the walk worth it.

003

006
See that yellow and pink in the distance? I wonder what that looks like close up?

009
Getting closer…

010
There! That’s what it looks like… camera held above my head to see the tops of the flowers. I hadn’t known that bee balm was a native species, somehow, and was also somehow surprised that it grew in such profusion, even though I know how it can eat up a flower garden.

008
I call these cornflowers and my husband calls them chicory, and we still love each other and live in peace.

Leave a Reply

