Done with summer

Well, it has been a great summer. Honestly, it might have been the best of my life. Trips! Fireworks! Field trips! Shakespeare! Steam train! Pool! Yep, the summer outdid itself, and I’m excited about packing everything up for fall…

Wait. We still have all of August and half of September to go.

NNNNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

That’s how I feel every year, including this year. Thankfully we still have a couple of fun things to do in August, and the heat is taking a break. This morning when I woke up it was 58 degrees outside and let me tell you, 58 degrees is the optimum temperature for me. If it could be 58 degrees for about eight months of the year I would be a happy camper.

007
The bee balm is just about done with summer.

020
My little babushka looks just about done with summer.

032
My baking is done with summer. Here you see Quaker’s Vanishing Oatmeal Cookies, the bar cookie version, the chocolate chip version.

035
My crafting might be done with summer. I dug up this single sock–this single, gorgeous, perfect sock–this tragically doomed, 100% merino sock. Knitted before I knew better. I think I have to knit its companion, but it breaks my heart. This beautiful sock, made into a pair, will survive one winter… maybe two.

038
My sewing is certainly done with summer. We’ve reached the point where I may as well sew winter clothes for Mimi, so I am gathering my materials. I’m doing a woodland animal theme with her stuff this winter, and am beyond pleased to have found this foxy ribbon.

2 thoughts on “Done with summer

  1. I too am enjoying a much cooler day here in PA. I think I might even get out of the house and into my yard for some much needed weeding and pruning of the mint. That fox ribbon is so cute!

  2. I think I am done with summer, too! The high heat and humidity that has been constant here since the end of May and not to mention all the rain we have had is really getting old. I think I would enjoy summer if I lived in Seattle, but here in the south, I am not a fan. I am also in a summer cooking rut. I really do not know what to cook these days. I enjoy cooking so much more during the cooler months. Chili, soups, and heavy pasta dishes are just not appealing in the heat. Enjoy the 58 degree weather… it sounds like perfect sleeping weather.

Leave a Reply

