Sunday night

069

067

066

063

062

075

077

083

Sunday night was a bouquet of hot-colored flowers from the back border and home-cooked Indian. I have Madhur Jaffrey’s Indian cookbook and that’s all; she offers plenty to keep me entertained. This is spinach and lentils with ginger, minus the lentils, and lentils with onion and garlic. The naan is this recipe because I don’t have any yeast in the house. The ice cream… oh my. I made that up and it is unbeLIEvable. Mango almond ice cream, eggless, just blitz the ingredients in the blender and dump into the ice cream maker. Here is how I did it:

Mango Almond Ice Cream

1 cup milk
1 cup cream
1.5 cups frozen mango chunks, not packed
.5 cup sugar
.25 teaspoon almond extract
smidgen salt

Put all ingredients in blender and blend until mango is mostly pulverized. Pour mixture into ice cream maker, mix till done, transfer to freezer. Lick the churn and die a little inside.

One thought on “Sunday night

  1. What a lovely Sunday evening. Your flowers are beautiful! I love the little bouquet on your dining table. Dinner looks delicious… my husband loves indian food. And the mango ice cream looks yummy. I may have to make it soon and luckily I picked up a bag of frozen mango from Trader Joe’s today.

Leave a Reply

