Disclosure: clothbound editions

Yeah, my bookcase-clearing isn’t all innocent. I fell into this sweet little trap:

001

I can’t justify buying a lot of beautiful books for myself but my daughter, you know, she can have them. My father read chapter books aloud to me at bedtime starting when I was four or five years old, and I’m going to do it for Mimi. And here are the books. Black Beauty was delayed in shipping, should arrive mid-May. We already have a uniform edition of the Anne Of Green Gables books, four editions of Grimm’s Fairy Tales, and I’m waffling over Stories of the Greek Heroes as something that doesn’t sound compelling, and is also translated and compiled by who-knows-who. And there’s my explanation for all twelve Puffin clothbound classics available.

They’re so beautiful. I die. The cover papers are gorgeous. The binding is old fashioned. Stories that had original black and white artwork have it included. And the covers… no need to explain those to you. Did I say they’re reasonable priced in spite of all that?

One thought on “Disclosure: clothbound editions

  1. I am reading the Wind in the Willows for the first time and LOVING IT. Except I’m reading it on my Kindle. Lol. Hey – it was free! You can’t beat free.

Leave a Reply

