Dutch colors?

I’ve been drawn to a new color palette in the last six months. It’s all blues and greens with warm neutrals. I even started a quilt out of these fabrics:

014

Maybe some day I’ll finish it.

Early this morning, as Mimi was starting to peep, I dreamed that we had all moved to Holland. We lived in a cottage in a village. It was small and low-ceilinged, floors and walls and ceiling all painted white, with leaded-glass windows. Sparks drove a tiny blue car to work, leaving me at home with a bicycle. As I looked through the front window a group of children and adults walked by, and one of the adults took the bicycle. I saw other bicycles chained up nearby, and wondered why mine hadn’t been.

The weather was overcast and rainy. I started lighting candles inside to drive off the gloom. Then it began to snow.

I think that dream had the same atmosphere as these quilt fabrics.

One thought on “Dutch colors?

Leave a Reply

