Giving thanks

Last night, Alicia of Posie Gets Cozy posted the post that we’d all been waiting for, and it was devastating. The baby girl they had hoped to adopt was, at the last minute, claimed by her biological father and after caring for the little girl for six days, Alicia and Andy have gone home empty-handed.

I’m heartbroken, and I’m just a stupid blog reader. I don’t know how they can bear it, and I don’t know how to handle it myself. Alicia writes about the experience so beautifully, and then the pictures of that beautiful baby girl… it’s too much. Caring for a little baby is such a precious and unique experience that everyone who wants it should be able to have it, especially such good people as Alicia and Andy. And that little girl’s childhood would have been a fairy tale. But it wasn’t to be.

019

This Thanksgiving week, I am hugging and kissing and loving on my own little treasure all the more. I am so blessed to have her, and so blessed to have Sparks, and so blessed to live a life in which so many fairy tales have come true. I’m grateful that Alicia and Andy have each other. I’m grateful that, for six days, they had that precious thing. And I’m grateful that Alicia lets us into her world, and into her heart. We love you, honey. We’re wishing and praying and hoping.

One thought on “Giving thanks

  1. I haven’t been reading Poesy Gets Cosy for a while now so I didn’t know. That is truly heartbreaking. I bawled. Just today I was spending time alone with F and felt compelled to tweet “I fucking love this baby.” Crass, yes, and silly too but I was just so happy and grateful for her at that moment. I feel so lucky to be in the position I am in – the ‘easily pregnant’ postition when I know so many women are not. I try to never be glib or take that for granted.

Leave a Reply

