Amelia’s Weasley sweater

When you craft, you have to let the projects guide you. Otherwise it becomes a chore and what’s the point of that?

So my next knitting project isn’t another pair of socks, or finishing a pair of socks, or knitting myself a fabulous Frost Flowers cowl… it’s a from-stash Weasley sweater for Amelia.

003

She’s too young to have house colors, and I’m determined to knit this from stash because I have so many odd balls of Rowan Felted Tweed lying around. So, because she was born the evening before Saint Patrick’s Day, I’m making her an Irish green Weasley. I have two balls of the deep emerald green, and am hoping I can knit the whole body of the sweater plus a little bit of each sleeve out of it. I’ll do the rest of the sleeves and duplicate-stitch her initial on the front with the lighter green.

The Harry Potter franchise seems to have come to an end. Knitting this sweater reminds me of what a big, happy deal it was while it lasted. Weasley sweaters were knit for a couple of the movies out of this same yarn; it is indeed the PERFECT choice, all tweedy and felted and earthy, not too slick and clean and Muggle-like. Knitting it, and thinking about Weasley sweaters, makes me think it’s time to re-read the first book at least. It will always be my favorite of the seven. It’s what drew me into the series–the delicious down-and-out with the Dursleys followed by the even more delicious discovery that Harry is a wizard; the shopping in Diagon Alley; seeing Hogwarts for the first time and descriptions of the dinners and decoration there; the first classes, the first Christmas, and a not-very-scary second half. Wonderful. Christmas is, for me, an important part of a Harry Potter book. I don’t know if I’ll ever re-read the last ones, that don’t have happy Christmases.

2 thoughts on “Amelia’s Weasley sweater

  1. The first one is also my favorite! HP inspired knits are a fantastic idea, especially when they go beyond Gryffindor scarves. I hope you will post a photo when it’s all finished.

  2. A Weasley sweater! What a wonderful idea. I would love to see the finished photo too.

    I’ve read and re-read the books so many times I’ve lost count. Yes, even the last one.

Leave a Reply

