Milkweed

Amelia and I took the prairie walk again today, and this time the prairie was in full flower. Woodland flowers are over, but the prairie is just getting geared up. I was happy to see that this is the year for milkweed, maybe my favorite wildflower.

011

There was lots of it. Lots and LOTS of it. Whole fields of it.

012

And sumac, showy rattlebox, clover, sunflowers, compass plant, coneflowers, and I don’t know what else. Tiny starry bright-pink flowers, something that blooms like morning glories but on different stems, and feathery white stuff and feathery yellow stuff…

006

The black raspberries are still red and the blackberries are still green. A few of the mulberries were ripe, though, and I ate them–sweet as sugar, the tastiest berry I know when properly ripe.

002

We found the shell of a robin’s mockingbird’s bluejay’s cardinal’s egg, perfectly intact except for the little hole where the baby cardinal escaped.

025

And whole patches of grass covered in these spit bubbles. I don’t know if it’s frog or insect spawn… one of the two.

026

It was a cool, overcast day, just perfect for walking and photographing.

032

My girl was wide awake for the whole thing.

4 thoughts on “Milkweed

  1. Oh I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to be in a field of Milkweed—-where is it? Any where near northeast Tennessee? 😀 And look at the berries…yummmm!

  2. When I was a kid, we called that stuff snake spit and were certain that it was evidence of snakes in the area. However, if you do a Google search for spittlebugs, you see the culprit is an insect.

  3. You have a good eye for detail. I have been browsing through your blog yesturday all the way to your first posts. I think , if you have the time for it, that your photos would make great stock photos. Of course only if you want to sell them. Greets

Leave a Reply

