Shortbread, potholders, no baby

I got an urge to make shortbread, so I pulled out my fancy shortbread mold

002

I found a recipe on Google, made the dough, and baked it. Then I got so excited that I tried to turn it out of the mold while it was still warm

005

Lesson learned. So I went to my sewing room to make some quick-and-dirty potholders instead. They are not examples of great craftsmanship, nor do I think they meet Sparks’ requirements–they’re too small and not floppy enough, which is entirely a fault of the heat-resistant material inside them. I think I need to make an oven mitt, or fingertip grabbers…

008

And I have also NOT had the baby yet, though I’m in spitting distance of my due date. If you are worrying about when I have it, keep an eye on the Twitter feed in the right sidebar of the blog–I’m sure I’ll have plenty to say about that in the next few days. There are signs that things are progressing, which is good, but I know that there are miles still to go.

One thought on “Shortbread, potholders, no baby

  1. Hello,

    I’ve been following your blog for some time and have been meaning to leave a note to say “hi” for an age.

    I love your nursery decoration – and all your quilting and crafting for the baby. I’ll be in your position in a few weeks time but I’m not nearly so prepared!

    Good luck – thinking of you and rooting for you!

Leave a Reply

