Nicey Jane quilt

Nicey Jane might just be my most-purchased fabric collection of all time. For one thing, it’s adorable. For another thing, Fabric.com had it on discount right from the get-go. For a third thing, it’s great for home sewing as well as garment sewing. For a fourth thing, the promotional pictures for it were delicious.

004

After I finished sewing the two big pillow covers for our fireside nook last spring, I had half of a jelly roll left over. I found a cheap quilter’s cotton that went with the collection well, and set out to make this quilt.

005

Once made, the quilt top languished in my sewing room, until this weekend when I found a piece of polar fleece that was big enough to back it, and said, lets do this thing.

013

I quilted it in one direction, with straight lines. Done this way–and given that the quilt is relatively thin and floppy because it doesn’t have any batting–it was easy to sew even on my home machine.

007

Then I bound it with yellow cotton that originally came as a set of 1930s solids. I bought these fabrics… um… in 1997. So it’s time to use them.

About quilting the top onto fleece, which was an experiment for me: there are some stretching issues with the fleece, as you’d expect. If you want to try quilting a top directly on to it, I’d recommend you take the following steps:

1. Cut the fleece backing generously, because it gets eaten up in the quilting process. Have at least four inches on all sides… but then, your mamma taught you to always leave four inches on all sides for quilt backings, so you know that.

2. Quilt from one edge of the quilt to the other, in bars that go the full length of the quilt. I know that a lot of machine quilting instructions say to start from the middle, but I think you’d inevitable end up with pleats if you did that.

3. If you plan to do any hand-sewing on the binding, I recommend that you sew it onto the fleece side with your machine, then hand-sew it to the quilt top side by hand. I had an awful time trying to get pins through the fleece and I can’t imagine what an ordeal hand-sewing it would be.

008

Oh, Pudding. She LOVES blankets, especially new ones, and always has to get in on the action when one is being photographed. Short of opening windows, laying a new blanket flat on the floor is the most enriching thing I can do for her.

009

New blankets are even more interesting than dead bugs.

011

Mmmmm hm. See? Now she has her own little fort. No humans allowed.

016

Did I mention that this is supposed to be my special sitting-on-the-couch throw? Did Pudding hear me? Can you imagine how much trouble I had getting back up off the floor after taking this picture?

2 thoughts on “Nicey Jane quilt

  1. I like the idea of just sewing it onto fleece instead of doing the traditional quilt sandwich method. Did you like this enough to do it again in the future or do you think you’ll go back to the traditional method?

  2. I think I will probably do it again, though I’m going to keep exploring other options too. The fleece does catch on the feed dogs, making it more of an effort to guide through the machine than a traditional quilt would be. I recently read a blog entry about spray adhesive basting… sounds like a great idea, just unfortunate that it’s so messy.

Leave a Reply

