Caramel applesauce cake

It’s a struggle these days, to balance my ever-increasing need for quality nutrition with my ever-increasing need for baked goods. I tweaked this recipe to a point where I think I can comfortably say, it’s all right nutritionally. You know, for cake. It’s really tasty too… Sparks says it’s one of my best!

Please excuse the uneven layers… I wouldn’t last ten minutes on Top Chef: Just Desserts
002

Caramel Applesauce Cake

Preheat oven to 350F.

Mix together:
1.5 cups AP flour
1.5 cups whole wheat flour
3 t baking powder
2 t baking soda
1/2 t salt
2 t cinnamon
4 eggs
1.5 cups sugar
1 cup oil
2.5 cups applesauce (I used our own, since we have so much)
1 t vanilla

Pour batter into a greased 10″ springform pan, and bake for 60-70 minutes, until a tester inserted into middle comes out clean. Remove from oven, and remove the ring of the springform pan.

When cake is cool enough to handle but still warm, slice through the middle and fill with most of a container of caramel apple dip; about 1 cup, give or take, more or less. Replace top immediately, so the warmth can melt the caramel and help it to spread out evenly inside the cake.

If you wish, top with cream cheese frosting (1 stick butter, 1 block cream cheese, 1 t vanilla, mixed with as much powdered sugar as it takes to make it taste good to you!)

5 thoughts on “Caramel applesauce cake

  1. Ooh, I just bookmarked this! I’ve been consuming massive amounts of applesauce since I got pregnant, so this will add a little variety to my applesauce consumption. Mmm….caramel….

  2. Mmm, now I want to make it again too. Better wait till after the baby weight goes away…

Leave a Reply

