Cut chenille blanket

Oh my, I’m in love. A project I stuck to from beginning (on Saturday afternoon) to finish (on Wednesday afternoon), with such a lovely result. Wow!

005

Sometime, someone whose blog I read posted a link to the cut chenille blanket tutorial on Aesthetic Nest. I thought it was lovely, but as far as my own child goes I was still focused on the upcoming sonogram etc. Now that that is out of the way and we know we’re having a little girl, it’s time to get down to business.

007

I made this blanket the hard way. That is, I sewed the lines with my ordinary home sewing machine, and then I cut then with my fabric shears. The easier way would have been to have had a quilting frame with horizontal lock (zip! zip! zip!) and a chenille cutting tool, which sadly runs anywhere from $15 to $30 (zip! zip! zip!)

008

So there was no zipping at all in this project, just several hours of sewing nearly-straight lines and several more hours, spread out over days, of cutting between the lines of stitching. “I don’t think”, I said to myself, “I’ll be making any more chenille blankets.”

Now that it’s out of the dryer, though, I wonder if perhaps I will.

009

I used solid flannel for the chenille, a Nicey Jane print for the foundation, and Kona cotton for binding. My one mistake in this project? Using a quilting-weight fabric for the blanket’s foundation. If you read Aesthetic Nest’s tutorial carefully, you’ll see that she used a home dec weight fabric, and that was the right thing to do. My blanket’s use is going to be accompanied by a bit of anxiety about how long the foundation fabric will hold up… hers won’t.

Overall, success! I call this an A+ project. I also think that maybe this blankie is mine… if the baby wants one she can make her own. Right?

14 thoughts on “Cut chenille blanket

  1. Pingback: Chenille blanket II « Snapdragons

  2. Both your chenille blankets are fabulous! I wonder why you think your quilt weight fabric might not last? Back in the day — late 90s, early 00s I think — when the I first learned to make chenille we made bath mats, quilt blocks, etc. all from quilting fabrics and they’re all going strong. I haven’t made one in a long, long time but I plan to break out my treasured Fig Tree fabrics for the foundation fabric and dig through my stash of flannel and make a rectangular lap quilt that will cover my feet when I knit. I do like the idea of using decor fab if the baby quilt will be used as a floor quilt for baby, much sturdier. Can’t wait to see the new baby! How about you? 😉

  3. I’m glad to hear that the quilting weight stuff holds up. The chenille seems like a lot of weight for it to hold, that’s why I was worrying. Thanks for snagging the Gypsy Rose from Etsy–I’ll pack it up this afternoon and mail it tonight or tomorrow!

  4. Hi, I saw one of your pictures used on the Fabric.com website and wanted to know if you either work for them or gave permission to them to use it, or if they just took it without permission (which is kind of what I am assuming, which is pretty maddening). Here is what I am talking about: http://www.fabric.com/christmas-gift-sale-cotton-chenille.aspx

    I knew I had seen the image before when looking for tips on making cut chenille quits (and that it therefore wasn’t a stock image or even the type of chenille they are selling!)

    Anyway, I love your blanket, and i knew right away where I had seen the picture before! 🙂

  5. Thank you for telling me, Deanna. I have just sent fabric.com an email requesting that they either remove the photo, or offer me $300 in trade for the use of it. Lets see what happens!

Leave a Reply

