Leaf walk: the woods

It’s the time of year for my annual leaf-photographing walk. This fall, for the first time I am not living in a heavily developed suburban area, but rather in a suburb that is hiding in the middle of a forest. At first I thought that the woods were the natural place to go for fall color, but alas, I was wrong. The natural trees here are oak, ash, and sycamore, with no naturally occurring maples at all. And maples, you know, are where all the orange and red come from. It was a good learning experience.

002
011
034
My feet… they are disappearing beneath my belly.

030
032
Pokeberry–the berries long gone, leaving the hot pink stems.

028
024
007
Other berries and blooms

015
016
019
026
033
The road stretching out before me… the pavement gradually disintegrated into forest floor.
That little animal in the middle picture is a cat, I’m sure now, but at the time I wondered if it was a dark-colored fox. It stood watching me for as long as I stood still taking pictures.

017
A few good leaves. Next walk: the neighborhood. Where people plant maples because they’re so pretty in the fall.

One thought on “Leaf walk: the woods

Leave a Reply

