Almond-apple crisp

Not to beat the almond and apple thing too hard, but, well, we do still have about 25 pounds of apples sitting in the garage, getting more fragrant every day. And I had a package of sliced almonds and not enough almond meal for another brandy cake. So…

046

Almond-apple crisp was the result. I have been making artisanal varietal applesauces, and it’s fun to see how each variety tastes and reacts to cooking differently. This crisp was made with Winesap because it’s the one we’re most desperate to use up (Arkansas Black appear to be all set to keep through the winter, whereas Rome is good for eating out of hand). Winesap makes a tart cooked apple, and holds its shape well.

037

Peel, core, and slice enough apples to half fill a large baking dish (I used the rectangular Pyrex kind–the kind you make casseroles in).

Slightly sweeten apples; I used 1/2 cup sugar for this lot. Had I been using a sweeter variety, I might not have sweetened them at all, especially considering the sweet topping that will go on later. Had I been using something sour like Granny Smiths, I would have used more.

Sprinkle on cinnamon; at least a teaspoon. Mix the apples up.

For the topping, combine:
1 stick mostly-melted butter
A cup of almond meal
1/2 cup sugar
One pinch salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 cup slivered almonds

Mix with your hands and do your best to evenly distribute it over the apples. Now evenly spread another cup of slivered almonds over the whole thing.

Bake at 350 for one hour. Eat as soon as possible.

3 thoughts on “Almond-apple crisp

  1. I’m making German apple cake as we speak. 🙂 No almonds, though I did contemplate adding pecans. The dough for the cake, however, was so incredibly thick, I didn’t dare add more dry ingredients. We’ll see how it turns out.

    I love almond cakes, but I can never bring myself to fork out the $15 for a small bag of almond flour and I don’t have a food processor. So I am envious of your pantry.

  2. Hi,

    Just wanted to let you know that I make up the desired amount apples all cored and sliced for pies/crisp and freeze it with the sugar and cinnamon already in. It works great to take a bag out of the freezer and have an almost instant pie/crisp. I have even micro zapped the apples if I don’t have time for them to thaw to manipulate into the pan. Another Lovell’s tip ! ! !

Leave a Reply

