Pink & blue pie

002

As expected, the deer ate all of the apples in easy reach, and since our trees are dwarfs, that was really a lot of apples. Deer can’t climb ladders though, and there are more left in the upper branches than we know what to do with.

Two evenings ago, Sparks picked a crate full of them and ran them through the peeler-corer-slicer. I made two pies, and he filled up the dehydrator with slices. I want to try making applesauce this weekend, too… my mother and aunt always made applesauce that was so much better than any store-bought kind. I hope mine will be as good.

As for the seasons–the heat has broken! There isn’t a high temperature that begins with an 8 or 9 in the whole ten-day forecast. Today is overcast, rainy, and with a wind that is hooting and moaning in the trees. A day ago I was rolling my eyes at people who are getting excited about Halloween already, but now I am there. I feel you.

Halloween will be extra-special this year, because right around then we’ll find out if we’re having a pink pie or a blue pie, in March. I can’t wait!

4 thoughts on “Pink & blue pie

  1. Applesauce is really easy. I make it all the time. I’ve mixed apples with other fruit too like pears and peaches and that’s really good.

  2. My recipe for applesauce? Slice up some apples, cook them on low heat until they mostly melt into mush, but with chunky bits. Sweeten to taste. Serve hot or cold with apple pie spice. 🙂

    We picked two bushels of Opalescent, Jonagold, and Empire apples yesterday. Of course, now it’s too hot to bake. So they are staring at me ominously… 😦 Luckily I can foist off some of them on my boyfriend’s parents next week.

Leave a Reply

