A Feast of Fabric

I’ve been in ur webstorez, stimulatin ur economiez!

015

Sparks and I are beginning to budget our spending (ah me, those lovely hedonistic days…), and this month are starting by keeping track of what we spend. It’s an academic exercise for Sparks, but having to report everything I spend has been a successful disciplinary measure for me. I haven’t browsed eBay once, I haven’t peeked at the J. Crew website once. The one little indulgence I have allowed myself is online fabric stores… and since I’m spending little-to-nothing everywhere else, suddenly, I have money to buy what seems like metric shloads of fabric. Thus, behold the month’s pile. Oh, and I bought a Meadowsweet sampler too, not pictured. Heh.

005

A cut of the Meadowsweet strawberries, ah dear, how lovely. Ever since Alicia Paulson posted the picture of the little girl’s dress made of it, I had to have some. Um… more than came with the QuiltHome designer sampler, anyway. Do you know about designer samplers from QuiltHome? It’s like a jelly roll times two–the strips are 4.5″ wide. Bliss.

007

And funnily enough, since QuiltHome currently has a 25% off sale on all Sandi Henderson fabric, I re-bought several prints from Farmer’s Market. I have previously made rules for myself that involve not re-buying fabric collections, and it would seem that Farmer’s Market was the collection that rule was designed for, because I bought a pile of fat quarters of it and I cannot use them up, no matter how many different projects I use them for. They’re the fat quarters that keep on giving. However, the fact that I’ve happily used it for three different projects already speaks to how much I like it. So… more.

009

And even more.

012

This felt like a real indulgence. This is the complete fat-quarter set of Little Folks flannel from Anna Maria Horner. That line of little flannel duckies she made? That sold me. I was slow to come around to her fabric, because I was stuck in a sweet/shabby/cottagey phase of my crafting and her fabrics are so loud, so bold, with their Tiki and African inspirations. They scared me a little. Then, several months ago, I bought the designer sampler of Good Folks and began making a string quilt with it. And fell head-over-heels in love. I especially appreciate how Anna Maria’s collections are spectrum-balanced, if that makes sense. There are nearly equal amounts of red, blue, and yellow in them, which makes them jump up and sing when combined.

017

Speaking of that “no re-buying” rule I have? And speaking of the Good Folks designer sampler that converted me? Yeah. I bought another.

013

And finally, some nice yard cuts of Nicey Jane. I have the remnants of a jelly roll just waiting to be made into something nice, and the fabrics are so colorful and happy… so very like what Mrs. Jetson would make patchwork out of, if she made patchwork. I need some. For quilt binding. For a summer blouse. For something. Anything.

I am fat on fabric, this month.

6 thoughts on “A Feast of Fabric

  1. It’s a kind of pre-cut bundle that Moda fabrics issues for most of their fabric lines. It contains one 44″ x 2.5″ strip of each fabric in the collection. They’re the post popular pre-cut because it makes strip quilting soooooo easy.

  2. Katie (are you still even a Katie?)–
    I just want to tell you how much I enjoy your blog and your observations on aesthetics, from quilting palettes to the perfect pork tacos on the perfect blue-and-white plate.

    I still remember when we had some silly “Block” project to accomplish together in maybe freshman or sophomore year. I was at your house, and you showed me how you had organized all your clippings of things you had admired (“Star Trek,” mainly) in binders, so neatly filed. Your blog, now, shows the same organization and attention to detail, and a taste that I wish we could both have bonded over in our earlier years.

    Cheers–
    Lauren

  3. Thanks for the lovely comment, Lauren 😉 . I noticed that you’ve started to feed your own blog through Facebook–I’ll keep an eye on it!

Leave a Reply

