More jewelry

I made this jewelry two months ago, and photographed it and put it on Flickr and then forgot to blog it, in all of the mess surrounding the move.

013

A hodgepodge necklace, made with all of the pinkish Czech beads I could find, and copper findings. This one isn’t meant to be a copy of anything in particular, just to be a “mixed up strands” kind of necklace.

018

A single strand necklace with glass pearls of varying sizes. This one was inspired by a J. Crew necklace. It is made of gold-tone chain and headpins, and one package of Blue Moon glass pearls. Those packages of glass pearls in varying sizes but the same color, btw? Exactly what I wanted to find, and Blue Moon delivered. As they so often do.

021

A multi-strand mixed pearl necklace, also made of gold-tone findings (though thanks to my sloppy color correction, you can’t tell) and cream glass pearls. I love to wear this one with a pale gray tshirt and my pale aqua cardigan. The cool colors and the warm colors do so much for each other.

022

A necklace made of clear glass rounds. This one was meant to be a “neutral” necklace that would add sparkle, but disappear into whatever it was worn on top of. I’m not sure I like it as a plain strand, though. I am thinking of re-working it like the pearl necklaces, so the glass beads can move a little and consequently sparkle even more. What do you think?

002

And finally, the Black Flowers bracelet, which was made for a friend who wanted something made of gunmetal. I really, really like how it turned out. I’m rather thinking of making one for myself 😉

009

And to top off this post, a pretty picture of Sparks’ homemade nigiri, and a short meditation on how grateful I am that we’ve come through this crazy year of our lives. It was wonderful, but it was CRAZY. We planned and threw a wedding, we planned and went on a honeymoon in Italy, we renovated a house including a complete gutting of the kitchen and bathrooms, and then we moved my not-insubstantial household into that house.

Now that the pressure is off, I am simultaneously feeling the kind of let-down emptiness that one feels after throwing a very big party, and also excited… nay, electrified… at the prospect of a life in which Sparks does not have a 45 minute commute, or two driveways to shovel, or incompetent remodelers to keep in line. A life in which our weekends can be used for relaxation and enjoyment, rather than work. A life in which we have time to go to the pool, or to the next town over, or to the you-pick farm, or for long walks. A life in which I can, perhaps, start using up my crafting materials faster than I accumulate them. A life in which Sparks gets to tend to his vacuum tube hobby and business. All of the hustle and bustle over the last year has built us up to a place where we can start to relax and really enjoy what we have, and I am so thrilled and so grateful to finally be there. Three cheers for life!

4 thoughts on “More jewelry

  1. Isn’t it a great feeling, starting to get settled? My life is a little unsettled right now (job, not loving our apartment, etc.) but I can’t wait to get a new job, find a new place, and settle down!

    Isn’t that funny? I thought I wouldn’t want to settle down for at least another 10 years. And yet here I am, wanting a bigger kitchen, room to entertain, a guest bedroom, and a garden.

    Oh well, gotta finish grad school first. 🙂 So glad you’re finding happiness in the small things, too!

  2. I like that bracelet, especially the flower beads. I can appreciate the sushi after seeing my brother and his friends making it for 4 hours.

  3. I’m happy for you and I look forward to hearing more about this great life you describe. I hope you share some of that with us.

Leave a Reply

