Doll dresser jewelry box

The first jewelry box is done! Woop woop!

011

To sum up: about six weeks ago, crazed by the excitement of jewelry-making, I realized that I needed a storage system for my handiwork. Many jewelry boxes are filled with confusing compartments and special holders, which I wasn’t interested in. All I wanted was a series of shallow drawers… and lots of them.

There are very very few jewelry boxes designed like this, and most have only 2-3 drawers. Grrrr. I found an acrylic version that was structurally acceptable, but not attractive. So I sat down and thought. And then I thought of doll dressers.

016

I ended up buying a set of two pieces. One is this four-drawer chest, and another is a three-drawer chest with a small swivel mirror on top. I fixed up the one with the greater capacity first… I’ll tackle the other soon.

First, I used a slightly damp cloth to wipe years and years of black grime off of it. Then I used a fine-grit sandpaper to rough up the varnish (it was in such bad shape that it would probably have taken paint anyway, but you can’t be too careful), then wiped with a damp cloth again.

Next came three layers of paint: green on the insides of the drawers, and oyster white everywhere else.

013

On Saturday, I spent a couple of hours in my sewing room making tiny patchwork quilts to put inside the drawers, to protect the jewelry from knicks and bumps. I just a-d-o-r-e this combination of fabrics, almost none of which were from the same line. I usually like to buy a whole line of fabric, but when I do mix things up, I’m always delighted.

019

And there we go. I have a drawer each for hair accessories, pearl jewelry, silver jewelry, and my own handmade jewelry. When I finish the three-drawer chest, there will be a drawer for watches, and two drawers for vintage celluloid jewelry. Weehee!

It’s fun to make something and end up with exactly what you wanted!

One thought on “Doll dresser jewelry box

Leave a Reply

