October first

It is October first. That, to me, means it is really-and-truly Autumn now, no more excuses. It feels odd, this year… last winter was so long and cold and dark, and the summer wasn’t very hot. Maybe for the first time in my life, I’m not embracing the cooler weather.

Favorites 14

I am trying to make the best of it though. Have a look at that mosaic! Aren’t the colors just edible? It makes me want to make petits fours and ice them in pinks and yellows and oranges and browns. Yum yum. Or maybe… make a quilt in those colors? Or knit striped socks?

I have become a mad baking fool, much to bread-lover Sparks’ delight. There were the cinnamon rolls, and then there was chocolate pumpkin cake (just a chocolate cake mix, with the eggs and oil replaced by pumpkin puree). Then there was pumpkin bread to take to a friend’s house. Then Yorkshire puddings, because we’ve been watching the Hairy Bikers Food Tour of Britain and had to try them… and last night, homemade whole-wheat English muffins, because we’ve also been watching The Victorian Kitchen, and I had to try those. That wonderful cinnamon roll recipe gave me courage to go on with yeast-risen things, and indeed, for the first time in my life the dough is coming out right for me. Odd. Makes me want to try pretzels again soon…

The first day of October here is chill and wet. The rain is pelting down, prompting me to trade my pretty pewter flats for my William Morris-patterned Wellingtons. The house, today, needs the heat running all day, instead of only for a morning warm-up. I even turned on the seat heat in my car on the way home for lunch. Yes, indeed, the summer is very much over.

Do you feel that Autumn came too fast, this year? What are you doing to make the best of it?

Leave a Reply

