Ahhhh, Czech beads!

If you were following my tweets yesterday, you know that I’d gotten myself into a state of pretty high excitement about the impending bead delivery. When I arrived home there was nothing on the doorstep and only one tiny package in the mailbox. I was about to tweet about it.

Then the FedEx guy rang the doorbell. Oh! Frabjous day! Calloo! Callay! I chortled in my joy.

007

I have learned a few things already. First, I need longer headpins. You see that the ones I got weren’t long enough to handle these 12mm beads plus caps. Ah well.

005

I have learned that I need a LOT MORE brass findings than I thought I did. The beads are just focal points… the brass pieces are the meat of the jewelry, and I need a whole bunch of inserts and charms to do what I want to do. And my supply of pretty bead caps is going to dwindle quickly, too.

003

I have learned that shiny gold earwires are not an acceptable option for mixing with antiqued brass. I am therefore without earwires until one of the two Etsy orders I made arrives. At that time, I will be swimming in them and it will be gooooood.

001

Lastly, I have learned that jewelry making is both fun and empowering. The bracelet above is so perfectly what I was picturing, and I’m so perfectly excited about wearing it once I have matching earrings. I do need some round-nose pliers and a proprietary pair of wire snips, in addition to the flat-nose pliers I already have. But ah… to make something so lovely and exciting in such a short period of time! And that dish of broken jewelry on my dresser? Oh yes. That’s all getting fixed pronto.

I recommend it.

11 thoughts on “Ahhhh, Czech beads!

  1. Lovely! And so perfectly autumnal. Naughty, thinking of autumn while it’s still August!

    Oh wait, it was 95 degrees out with 70% humidity the other day. What am I saying? Bring on the autumn!

    P.S. What exactly are Czech glass beads and how do they differ from “normal” glass beads?

  2. Hey, Labor Day is coming up and autumn is fair game after that. C’mon… summer has soooo jumped the shark.

    I have no idea what distinguishes Czech beads from other beads. They do come from the Czech republic I think (hee hee, I still want to say Czechoslovakia). There are a few characteristic pressed shapes, like bell flowers and leaves, as well as the faceted rounds and rondelles. “AB finish” and “Picasso finish” are popular and I haven’t seen other beads with them, too.

  3. czech beads tend to be higher quality than the equivalents from india and china. They’re more regular, rarely show their seams, and are less likely to break.

    I hope that helps 🙂

  4. Neat! I do love the faceted ones. They come in such pretty colors! Any chance you’d share your sources?

  5. Neat-o, Kat! If you are going to invest in good tools, I would highly recommend getting Lindstrom – the blue/black handle ergonomic ones. And I never buy anything other than 3″ headpins; it is much easier to wrap that tail around the loop if you have a good grip, even tho’ you waste some of it.

  6. Yep. Nothing but the longest headpins you can get. Grrrrr. Oh well. Still waiting for longer pins *and* earring wires to come in the mail.

Leave a Reply

