Trying to be wise

Live each season as it passes; breathe the air, drink the drink, taste the fruit, and resign yourself to the influences of each.
~ Henry David Thoreau

002

Right around now, every year, I start to think–just a little in the back of my mind–that the autumn is going to be nice. Right around now I start to think about my sweaters, my boots, my lush winter purse and coat… about roasted root vegetables and colored leaves… about flannel pajamas and hand-knit socks and how delightful it is to come in from the cold.

Always right about now. Just when the garden is starting to produce tomatoes, when the summer flowers are blooming, when berries and stone fruits are in season, and when it’s finally hot enough (well, most years) to swim. Perhaps, though, I am getting to be sufficiently wise that these thoughts only help to appreciate the seasons more when they actually come.

Perhaps.

One thought on “Trying to be wise

  1. I totally agree. Last night we had a fire crackling in our fireplace and I cooked for some friends. I got a very excited feeling about the coming of fall, which is probably my favorite season (even in the midst of all the beautiful flowers blooming now)!

Leave a Reply

