A lazy summer evening

Watching my blog statistics is a hoot. I disappear for 36 hours, people, and have the WORST traffic day in a month? Ohhh, right, everyone’s reading about the Gosselins and Farrah Fawcett and Michael Jackson. I have been enjoying this week’s circus, too, do you think it’s leaving town or will we have another week of thrills & chills?

I am chilling out on the back deck, enjoying the evening, which is merely “very warm”. The days here have been scorchers, this week. I am afraid of what may come in August.

003

This was my dinner. The tomatoes were, unfortunately, store-bought, but the basil was just-picked from the container on the deck. I am trying to get it before it flowers, this year. It tastes so much better than way. The dipping sauce for the calamari is 1/2 sour cream, 1/2 mayonnaise, a drop of red wine vinegar, one clove of garlic pressed, 1/2 tsp dried mustard, and a pinch of salt. I also ground pepper over the calamari as soon as it came out of the oven.

I am also enjoying a shipment that came from Quilt Home today. They offer “designer samplers” of some collections, which are one-eighth yard of each fabric from the line. That’s one 4.5″ wide strip, which for many applications beats jelly rolls all hollow.

004

Good Folks by Anna Maria Horner. Lots of people exclaim over how they “love love LOVE!” this fabric. I have come to it slowly and by degrees; to be honest, I’m a little scared of it. It’s so frighteningly like a nightmare in a tiki bar… and yet… there’s something about it…

006

So when I become too frightened of it, I look at Midwest Modern by Amy Butler. Goodness, it’s all pastels! I didn’t quite realize that. It’s lovely though. Right now, I’m thinking that this will be a queen-size coin quilt, and the Good Folks will be a smaller string quilt. Hmmmmmm. Long summer evenings are built for wondering things like this…

005

During his drive home on Wednesday, Sparks stopped his car by the side of the road and picked tigerlilies for me. It made me so, so, so, so happy. Somehow, stopping by the side of the road to pick tigerlilies strikes me as being teh most romantical thing ebber. Thank you for these lovelies, sweetheart.

Sparks and I met one year ago today. How about that?

3 thoughts on “A lazy summer evening

  1. Wow. Beautiful calamari and fabric! I have a great hint for your basil. Last summer, I learned if you snip the buds & flowers off, you can keep flavor at its peak. The plant will continue to strive to produce buds and you can really extend the length of time you get flavorful leaves.

    Congrats on one year!

  2. What I had heard was that basil gets bitter when it flowers. It indeed *has* always seemed bitter to me, compared to supermarket basil, and it has always flowered. This year they’re growing more slowly, maybe because they’re crowded, so I think I can keep up with them. Would *you* say that home-grown basil has an extremely pungent taste? Almost like an anesthetic?

  3. Yes, I’ve always found that my homegrown basils can be very pungent. I’ve switched to growing lemon basil which has a wonderful citrus flavor. They’re a bit lighter. Whenever I see buds or flowers, I snip them off. It lasted me all of last summer. The lemon basil doesn’t have the beautiful, wrinkly dark green leaves. They’re lighter and smaller, but so, so good.

Leave a Reply

