Lemon cake and cherry blossoms

I’m not Yarnstorm Jane, so instead of cherry cake and ginger beer, around here we have lemon cake (to go with the tea) and cherry blossoms.

005

This is the Meier lemon coffee cake from the May 2008 issue of Martha Stewart Living. It is a sour cream cake batter layered with thin-sliced lemons and topped with streusel. I have been trying to liquidate the huge pile of magazines that I have failed to read in the last year and a half, and this was both a sudden inspiration and a break from the crushing studiousness of it all (*scoff*). Sparks and I concur that this cake is merely “okay”, and since it involves the fuss and mess of slicing the lemons with a mandoline and then boiling and draining them twice, it is really not worth the fuss. And also, you really do have to get the lemons sliced paper-thin. Otherwise, the rinds are just chewy, stringy lumps in the cake. Oh well, not everything’s perfect.

015

One way I am dealing with the winter horridness (it is snowing. again.) is by “being pretty”. I have been making an extra effort to blow dry my hair and to wear perfume and makeup every day. Bath and Body Works’ huge semi-annual sale has made that so much easier, lately. I stocked up on eau de toilette (in such a fetching pink bottle!), body butter (for heels and elbows), and regular lotion (for my hands, at work, every time I wash them) in my very favorite scent, Cherry Blossom. I have also found some Dove body wash in the cherry blossom scent–it is oh-so-helpful in mitigating the winter itchy-scratchies. For makeup, I am using L’Oreal Bare Natural mascara in brown-black and L’Oreal’s HIP concentrated shadow duo in “Foxy”. I use just the pink on my eyelids for daytime, and add the brown when I go out at night. For lipstick, Sonia Kashuk’s lipstick in “Peony”, which is just the right slightly-sheer, slightly-shiny shade of pink. Pink pink pink! I can’t get enough!

Leave a Reply

