In Country Sleep, 2008

IMG_1466
Never and never my girl riding far and near
In the land of hearthstone tales and spelled asleep
Fear or believe that the wolf in a sheepwhite hood
Loping and bleating roughly and blithely will leap, my dear my dear
Out of a flocked lair in the dew-dipped year
To eat your heart in the house in the rosy wood.

–Dylan Thomas

Matilda was, of course, one of my favorite childhood books, and the scene at Miss Honey’s house one of my very favorites. Miss Honey recites the above verse and says that Autumn always makes her think of it… and so, Autumn has always made me think of it too. How I adore Autumn. How I adore the colors, the smells, the cozy cold nights, the cheerful trees and pumpkins, the joy, the family, the celebrations, the turning-in, the wild glee of harvest time.

Autumn is here. Oh, I’m so happy.

Leave a Reply

