Fried zucchini blossoms

It has come to my attention that some bloggers are listing me in the “Foodie Blog” section of their blogroll (thanks!) Well, if I am thought of as a foodie, I’m totally down with that–and I’d better look sharp to maintain my creds, don’t you think? So I couldn’t possibly pass this one up. I wouldn’t want anyone to think that I don’t measure up as a fresh-from-the-garden foodie.

001
Yeah. That’s what I’m talking about. Zucchini blossoms, right off of my zucchini hill. You’ll want to pick the male flowers, which grow on the end of stalks, rather than the female flowers which are on the ends of zucchini.

003
If you want to just bread them with beaten egg and flour and fry them, you should go ahead and do that–the Italians do. If, on the other hand, you feel like stuffing them with cheese and garlic and garden-fresh herbs, you should do that.

006
Wash the blossoms and open them up a little bit to check for bugs, pull out the stamens, and stuff them with whatever you’re going to stuff them with. “But Kat!” you say. “Where’s the fourth blossom?” It had a bee in it. ‘Nuff said.

007
Fry, baby, fry. Hoo boy, is that looking good.

010
And there they are, the finished product. Hard to tell exactly what they are, isn’t it?

014
I’m canny enough to recognize that, done the way I did it, this is basically an excuse to eat fried cheese. And I’m down with that.

5 thoughts on “Fried zucchini blossoms

  1. I had NO idea that you could eat the male blossoms! I have TONS of them on my vines.

    Okay…now for maybe a ‘stupid’ question…

    What do they taste like? And don’t tell me chicken! ROFL

  2. Hi! I’ve not been around much this summer, just lurking around reading blogs when I get a chance. Been busy with work. I have been enjoying all of you wonderful pics and interesting recipes. I’ll have to tell my daughter about this one. Like most people she’s got a garden full. I’ve been tagged by Kathy Ann at Be-Stitched Artfully and am in turn tagging you. If you’d like to play along visit my blog. I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with next.

  3. Pingback: Week 9 – B Group « Tribeca CSA

Leave a Reply

