A walk in the woods

I am in The Sticks again, visiting my parents. Last time I was here, there was about a foot of snow outside, and it was deer hunting season, so I spent most of my time and blogging effort indoors. Now, however, it is Springtime–ah, Spring. Spring in the woods. I really love woods; I live on the prairie now, and I can tell you, I love the woods and I miss them.

009
Whose woods these are, I think I know.

014
The road not taken.

018
The perfect cabin’s driveway is protected by a perfect gate, which we hopped over…

031
… after taking time to examine the miniature landscape growing on top of it…

030
… which included this strange moss/fungus/slime mold, one of three things that I have always been fond of…

029
… and populated by Mr. Caterpillar here. Unfortunately, Mr. Caterpillar is a tentworm, so we didn’t stick around to chat.

034
At this time of year, the woods are filled with many kinds of flowers….

038037
021020
017013

033
… and a few toadstools.

022
We passed by the edge of a lake,

025
and by many mossy stumps. I am fond of mossy stumps, too.

026
Large dragonflies that flap their wings like butterflies flitted back and forth, across our path. It was easy to imagine they were fairies…

032
… and that we were hobbits, especially as rain began to fall and we pulled up our hoods.

036
On the way home, the rain stopped and the sun came out. I decided to follow the path…

039
That leads to the river.

042
Hundreds of forget-me-nots were blooming by the water. One of my very favorite flowers.

One thought on “A walk in the woods

  1. So many pretty pictures. I do like the theme change over here – the stripes are pretty and go well with all your flower photos and quilt fabrics!

Leave a Reply

