Cute/Sweet

In the whirl of social activity, it had somehow come to pass that I hadn’t looked at a single magazine yet this year. Six issues of Martha Stewart Living and six issues of Country Living were piled on my coffee table, touched by guests but not by myself. Something had to be Done.

IMG_5641

There was a little blurb about Alicia Paulson of Posy Gets Cozy, congratulations Alicia! Your blog is, for sheer eye candy, my very favorite ever. I have been wandering around my house, trying to figure out why mine isn’t that cute.

IMG_5642

Martha Stewart was once quoted as saying, “I don’t need eight houses. I want eight houses.” I feel that way sometimes, too. I would like to have a Craftsman-style bungalow. I would like to have an adorable Shabby Chic cottage. I would like an English Country house in Oxfordshire. I’d like a white tropical beauty on Key West, shaded by enormous palms and with the interior walls all painted dreamy pale blue. Alas, like most of us, I have to settle for just one home, and do one thing with it. And the English look seems to have won, for the most part, with some parts Country and some parts City. And I do love my house. I do.

IMG_5646

In other news, one of the piles of fabric from yesterday has been reduced to 5.5″ squares. All of these will be put together into an American Pie quilt, finished size 50″ x 50″, a lap quilt, just right to throw over the pink wing chair in my bedroom. Totally English Country.

Leave a Reply

