life

Birch candleholders

We had a birch tree on our property. Not a white birch, but a birch. It had to come down a year ago, unfortunately. Sparks sawed it into lengths and I asked to keep one of them, not knowing quite what I would do with it. Months passed and I did nothing; eventually he disposed of it. Ah well.

002

Now I know what one does with birch trunks–one makes birch candle holders, duh. Birch-less and bereft, I called my dad, who fights back five acres of wilderness Up North and must surely end up with a spare birch here and there.

031

And lo, he found one that was in the way (fixing to fall across their drive), and he made and sent me eight birch candleholders. Don’t I have a good dad?

029

They’re just right. I love how they have a little bit of lichen still clinging to them. Did you know you can buy lichen at Hobby Lobby? I don’t have to, though.

024

It turns out that Hobby Lobby also sells some artificial greenery with pinecones that doesn’t look 100% fake. I found four branches of it, hidden behind a lot of branches of glittery berries.

023

It’s such a pretty tablescape. Perfect. I LOVE THE LICHEN.

021

The end.

019

Standard

5 thoughts on “Birch candleholders

  1. Reblogged this on Found Round & About and commented:
    Great idea for those of use with more of the natural objects to make cool stuff with! I have so many limbs from our mass chainsaw activities this past summer that I may have to go looking for such for the holidays!! If nothing else I bet they would make great Christmas gifts!

  2. Pingback: Birch Tree Decor - Dreaming of June

Leave a Reply

